My Poem

This work was based on the achievements of Martin Luther King. I recently read a book about the Civil Rights Movement, so I felt like writing a poem based on the ideals of the campaign. For a little background, Selma, Alabama, was one of the more racist areas in the United States in the 1960s. As a result, it was one of the bigger concerns for African-American Civil Rights groups.

brand_bio_bio_martin-luther-king-jr-mini-biography_0_172243_sf_hd_768x432-16x9

ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย  ย Image

Through the streets of Selmaย 

Freedom walks, freedom rings

He yells, chants, for the people

As his words shine and bling

Emanating from Martin

The Luther to the King ย 

White to the left, colored in the corner

Acquitted for trial, but Emmettโ€™s at the coroner

Martin will end it, oh yes for sure

For society as we know it is still not pure

Through the streets of Selma

Freedom has something to say

And he will not stop talking

Until the last of his days

Emanating from Martin

The Luther to the King ย 

And may the voice of freedom

Continue to singย 

 

 

27 thoughts on “My Poem

    • Thank you Remy! Just finished looking at your site, my favourite post was the acrostic; it was well written, and insightful. Keep it up!

  1. Hey Yacob,

    You’re post was really well written and super interesting. The work that Martin Luther King did was amazing!
    I really liked your post! Keep it

    • Thanks for your remarks Jacob! Just checked out your blog, the landscape story was exceptional ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฟ . I enjoy reading and writing and it was a great piece to wade through.

    • Thanks for the comment, Gavin! Your blog is pretty cool if I may say so :). Good to see someone else who appreciates shooting hoops! ๐Ÿ€ ๐Ÿ€ ๐Ÿ€ #BallisLife

  2. Hi Jacob,

    Nice poem for Martin Luther King Jr. It was really inspiring and attractive. I really liked the way you had the words played out like that. So, great job on that. It was really good. Great Job!

    Sincelery,
    Natalie

  3. Hey Yacob! Nice poem, I like it. I was always a big Martin Luther King fan and always admired his work. You did a really good job with the poem.

  4. Wow, that was great, lol, I can’t even get close to the amount of skill required to make a poem like this. I find it really insightful and entertaining. What is your favorite poem, I’m not that into them so I don’t have one.
    #isdDC9
    Noah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *