Twitter Expert/Academic Connect Assignment – Reflection

I followed Mimi Alemayehou (@malemayehou), Oz Hassan (@ozhassan), Stuart White (@StuartGWhite), Kevin Gillian (@kevgillan), Jason Dittmer @RealJDittmer, Politics (@JournalPolitics), Joshua Inwood (@JoshGeog), James Tyner (@Tynergeography), Alasdair Pinkerton (@AlPinkerton), Eric Lipton (@EricLiptonNYT), Zahra Billoo (@ZahraBilloo), and Robert Bullard (@DrBobBullard).  

Ms. Alemayehou, Journal Politics, Mr. Hassan, Mr. White, Mr. Gillian, Mr. Dittmer, Mr. Tyner, Mr. Pinkerton, Mr. Lipton and Mr. Inwood related to my project because their current/previous employments revolved around politics and/or the study of it. As a result, I would be able to receive information about Donald Trump from a more detailed standing point. As each of these people was familiar with the U.S government system, my questions could demand for answers regarding Donald Trump’s ideals and promised laws.

My questions were:

Ms. Billoo and Mr. Bullard related to my project due to their occupation as activists/writers. Along with the work they have done, their backgrounds also proved to be helpful for my research. Ms. Billoo and Mr. Bullard are Muslim-American and African-American respectively, thus both representing groups of people that feel threatened by the policies President Trump has guaranteed to pass. When I asked them questions, it was in order to seek information about how they felt about the way in which Trump’s election may affect their communities.

I will definitely be able to use the Twitter process for future research endeavours. For classes such as Social Studies, this method will definitely be helpful due to its hands-on approach to getting information. The Twitter Expert Project, in my opinion, was most helpful to me because I was able to become more confident; this aspect of the research will stick with me in the future. Prior to starting to ask the questions and retweet, I was liable to get scared when asking for something I really want, specifically with people I don’t know. Now, in and out of school, I will have little to no issue going up to a stranger in the hopes of receiving information, or whichever need I require.

 

 

Only Mr. Hassan and Ms. Alemayehou, two of the total experts listed, responded to my Tweet questions. I only received a single follow, which came from from Ms. Alemayehou. I was able to continue the conversation with Ms. Alemayehou, as we had an in-depth conversation about my inquiry in person. She offered help if I encountered crossroads in the Trump research.

I could definitely apply the Twitter question process outside of school.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *